Embrace the Cliche Part II

Phot0 by amerune

 

Status: In a Relationship

The Destin beaches in Florida are some of the prettiest beaches I have ever seen. The Emerald Coast is known for its emerald green water and white sand, attracting all kinds of tourists each year.

April 16, 2006 was a Sunday, and my family and I had invited Mat to come to the beach with us. It was a really hot day for April, and I wanted to work on my tan and stay out of the water. Mathew, however, had other plans and threw me into the water, making me face my fear and play in the ocean.

After an hour, Mat asked me to go for a walk with him up the beach. I remember at least a foot between us as we walked along the sand. Resort hotels and condos could be seen up the beach, the bright blue beach chairs and their umbrellas set up along the waterline.

It was a bit quiet as we walked. I felt the water rush up to my feet as we went. He interrupted the silence. “So, I wanted to ask you something,” he said. He stared at his feet the entire time he walked. I simply nodded. “I like you a lot, and I wanted to know if you wanted to be my girlfriend?”

I didn’t even have to think about it. As we were still walking, I turned my face to him and said “Yes.” He smiled and we turned around and headed back. We walked back like we had a friendly conversation and went on with the rest of our day at the beach. It wasn’t until we left the beach and were sitting in the very back of my parent’s blue Aerostar that Mathew slipped his hand in mine. The whole ride home, a new journey was starting, and I could not wait to see where we would end up.

 

More to come tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

